Home | Community | Message Board

Cannabis Seeds - Original Sensible Seeds
Please support our sponsors.

Welcome to the Growery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

MagicBag.co Shop: All-In-One Bags That Don't Suck, Certified Organic All-In-One Grow Bags by Magic Bag

Jump to first unread post Pages: 1
Some of these posts are very old and might contain outdated information. You may wish to search for newer posts instead.
OfflineTomCollins

Transformer overheating?
    #292771 - 10/06/09 02:48 AM (14 years, 5 months ago)

Hi Everyone,

I'm spency, this is my first post here and I'm quite new to marijuana cultivation.

My friend swim asked me to post here on his behalf. Swim recently purchased a GIB Lighting PRO V - T 400Watt with an HPS bulb.

After he finished wiring up the transformer, swim decided to plug it in to give it a quick test run. Swim failed to realize he had wired it wrong. Swim slowly inserted the plug into a wall socket, and half way in the circuit breaker went off, and the lights in the house turned off and swim quickly pulled the plug out. So it was never plugged in all the way; however, it made it far enough to activate the breaker. Swim then noticed he wired the transformer wrong and was terrified he had destroyed it.

So Swim rewired it and tried plugging it in again and noticed that it still worked. A great relief for Swim.

However, recently swim has noticed the transformer becomes extremely hot very quickly. In fact, within 2-3 hours it is too hot to touch. However, the transformer is equipped with a thermal fuse and therefore in theory it is "impossible" for it to overheat. Swim questions this however, because of how hot it actually becomes.